Home » Laptop » Acer » Acer Swift 5 and Swift 3 2018 Variants Previewed at IFA 2018

Acer Swift 5 and Swift 3 2018 Variants Previewed at IFA 2018

Acer does not miss the traditional appointment with IFA in Berlin and presents next generation notebooks, for all tastes and budgets. Undoubtedly, among the most interesting we have the Swift 5 and Swift 3, refreshed once again to achieve high performance and more important to challenge any competitor on the scale. And of course, the Acer Swift 5 touted to be the ‘world’s thinnest 15-inch notebook’ weighs just about 990 grams.

Acer swift 5 2018

Acer Swift 5 2018

A record for the category and no constructive or hardware compromise, this notebook integrates the latest 8th generation Intel Core i5-8265U and i7-8565U processors. So all the benefits just are shown by Intel and declared battery life up to 10 hours, even if the real one we know how to be more and more contained.

The body has been completely revised to achieve this weight, so we speak of magnesium-lithium alloy for the upper and lower plates, with magnesium-aluminum alloy palm rest and frame around the keyboard. The thickness is 15.9mm, there are the fingerprint reader and the integrated Windows Hello recognition system.

Several configurations available for the Swift 5 will be configurable with a maximum 16GB of SDRAM DDR4 RAM, up to 1TB of NVMe PCIe storage and a 15.6-inch IPS Full HD display with 5.7mm ultra-thin frames. Another important innovation, especially in light of the new offers of our operators, the WiFI Gigabit wireless 2×2 802.11ac, to navigate at maximum speed. There is also a USB 3.1 Type-C Gen-2 for data transfers up to 10 Gbps, two USB 3.1 Type-A and one HDMI.

Acer swift 5 price

The 15-inch variant of the Acer Swift 5 will be available in North America starting January 2019, starting at $1,099; in EMEA (Europe, the Middle East, and Africa) in November, starting at EUR 1,099; and in China, in November, starting at CNY 7,499.

For those who want to reduce the overall dimensions, Acer has also thought about the 14-inch variant of the Swift 5 (SF514-53T), with the same identical hardware platform and 14-inch Full HD touchscreen display. The body is obviously smaller, with a thickness reduced to 14.9mm and weight even more contained than 970 grams.

The same materials used to keep the weight low and the same ports only change the USB 3.1 Type-C since it is a Gen 1 (up to 5 Gbps instead of 10 Gbps). The 14-inch Acer Swift 5 will be available in EMEA in September, starting at EUR 999; and in China, in November, starting at CNY 7,499.

Acer Swift 3 2018

Reducing the dimensions does not mean reducing the weight, in fact, it is curious to note that the 13-inch Swift 3 (SF313-51) is designed for mobility – with 4G LTE connectivity – but weighs 1.3kg and has a thickness of 15.9mm. We do not yet have precise information on the hardware platform, Acer talked about generic Intel Core processors.

Acer swift 3 2018

In addition to mobile connectivity, we have the 2×2 WiFi 802.11ac, a battery that theoretically keeps it alive for 13 hours, 8GB of DDR4 RAM and up to 512GB of NVMe PCIe SSDs.

If we want a slightly wider display, then we need to consider Swift 3 with a 14-inch display. We start from the first two signed ‘SF314-55’ and ‘SF314-55G’, with a 14.9mm thick body, 1.4kg, Full HD display and thin frames (only 6.1mm). Both can be configured with next-generation Intel processors, Core i7-8565U / i5-8265U / i3-8145U, up to 8GB of DDR4 RAM and up to 512GB of NVMe PCIe SSDs.

There will be an optional graphics card, in fact, we can buy them with the NVIDIA GeForce MX150 that offers an extra gear in terms of graphics. The Gigabit 2×2 WiFi 802.11ac and the USB 3.1 Type-C Gen 2 close the hardware.

Acer swift 3 price

Last variant of the new Acer Swift 3 is ‘SF314-56’, similar aspects regarding processors and displays, but changes the body, here larger to accommodate the hard disk, with a defined extra-large touchpad and 15.6-inch inch display, Also on this variant we find a USB Type-C Gen 2 for data transfers up to 10Gbps.

The Acer Swift 3 with the 13-inch display will be available in EMEA in October starting at EUR 799. Two models with 14-inch displays will be available in North America in November, starting at $799.99 and in EMEA in January 2019, starting at EUR 799.

About Jignesh Dudakiya

He is newbie on the Techtoyreviews. An enthusiastic mechanical qualifier who additionally Interested in the latest gadgets and tech. An exceptionally tech savvy who is always discovered reading or writing on technology. In spare time like to peruse books and playing Cricket. PayPal donation for TechToyReviews will be appreciated.

Check Also

HP EliteBook X360 1040 G5 price

HP EliteBook X360 1040 G5 is the Smallest Convertible For Professionals

HP launches the new EliteBook X360 1040 G5, defined as the world’s smallest rotatable display …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

ContactUs.com